Google+

Open Your Eyes!

Leave a comment

August 10, 2017 by pastorjdo3

This morning A moment of panic set in, as I searched for a place to eat breakfast. Why you ask? There are so many places to eat! But First Met has entered a fast! No Bread! No Fried Foods! And no Beverage outside of Water! Mentally, I was scrolling through menu after menu! What can I eat? Where can I go?
Panic set in! I couldn’t think of a place to eat. Then I saw a grocer. Fruit! Quick! Simple! Delicious! Cost efficient! I walked in and discovered lot of choices in addition to my desire. I entered the section and found heaven in a cup. Parfait. 

It was then I found truth and a key to surviving the fast and to thriving in life. Often we are so consumed with what we can’t have that we can’t think of what we can have.  

Are you so focused on what you can’t have that you can’t see what you can have? 

Do we fail because our minds become consumed with boundaries and rules? Do we miss opportunities focused on the things because we are focused on things that are not within our grasps? 
Truth be told, this is why most fasts fail. Our minds become laser focused on the no,’s and overlook the yeses. For a moment, a problem existed. Not a real problem, but one created from my inability to see past what was restricted from intake, so much so that I was blind to the many options around me.
Once I took a moment, I was able to see not only a store, but 3 other options. Not only that, but the real blindness was created by a fear for a lack of discipline. Every place had something on the menu that I could eat, but I feared that I would not be disciplined or strong enough to be obedient if given the opportunity to break the fast. The reality, there were many options by which I could dine, but not many in which I might be successful, that is being undisciplined in this area.
I made my purchase and was in my car within almost the same time frame it would have taken to drive through the drive through. I broke the seal and mixed together the items and dug in. While eating, I realized that we are so bound by what we don’t or can’t have that we miss out on things that can bring us joy.  

Are you so blinded by what you can’t have that you can’t appreciate what you do have? 

The Parfait was delicious! I enjoyed the bitter texture of the yogurt, the sweetness of the strawberry and the crunching through the granola. I enjoyed spoonful after spoonful. I could only thing that I would have missed this bliss consumed with what I had to miss. When we place our mental energy on what we can’t have, we rob from ourselves the joy of what’s available to us.   

I screamed to myself! Johnny, Open Your Eyes! I say to you, Open Your Eyes! See what God has provided. Open your mind to what’s available. Discipline yourself for the journey! 

Leave a Reply

Instagram

A leader can't live at the level of their conviction, but at the level of conviction of the one they are trying to influence. #grow17 #leadership #campexalted17 #campexalted17 #campexalted17 #membershipisdiscipleship #pastorjdo3 #membershipisdiscipleship #pastorjdo3
